Get real, says the lady.

We are at Manning farmers markets. It is a beautiful Saturday morning, and we have stocked up on fresh vegetables, apples, cucumbers, and orange peppers. While Julie buys a coffee, the kids and I sit under a tree with our bags, enjoying the air and the movement. Because the markets are outside, many people have brought their little dogs, and in front of us two pretty mutts do the usual sniff routine. The lady who owns one of these dogs then moves on, and as she does, her small, furry dog cocks it’s leg and urinates on our eco-friendly canvas shopping bag.

‘Hey!’ I call out. ‘Your dog just peed on my bag!’

‘Ahhh. Sorry’, the lady mutters and continues on her way.

Incensed, I jump up and grab some serviettes from the coffee shop, and mop at the damp sprinkle left by this careless dog and its less-than civic-minded owner. My thoughts coalesce a bit more and I stride after the lady, and interrupt her.

‘Excuse me. But I think if I peed on your bag, you would be upset. When your dog pees on my bag, the least I think you should do is offer to get a tissue and help mop it up.’

The lady looks at me incredulously. ‘Get real! Get over it!’ She is almost, but not quite shouting.

‘That’s not a very mature response’, I return. Snappy, I know.

‘You’re the immature one!’ She does shout this time, and she is now walking away. I give it up and return to Julie, our shopping, the kids and the pee-stained bag. Julie has the coffee. She shares my outrage, as do a few stall holders who witnessed it all. We take our stuff and go and sit elsewhere.

This whole thing rankles. Apart from the illegality of exposing myself in public, how would she feel if I peed on her shopping?

The coffee is soapy and lukewarm. But the apples are delicious.

7 thoughts on “Get real, says the lady.

  1. We are not allowed to take dogs to a restaurant so why take them to a market where people are eating and drinking. I love dogs, in the right place!

  2. I wonder if this is one of the side effects of our disconnected, dislocated society. That apart from having a stranger get angry at you for a minute or two there aren’t actually any repercussions for rude or offensive behavior. I’m sure she’ll be back in a week and no one (apart from your family) will remember what she looked like. Mmm that’s a bit bleak now that I’ve written it. Still think it’s probably true.

  3. You didn’t “get over it” yet (ha ha), I’m joking. in your place I would get angry too, but I felt sorry for the woman. I think for someone to react so grossly probably she is sad and empty inside. I feel pity for her when I read it. You probably got over it quick, but she still with her rude and empty heart…. She is worth of pity.

  4. I’ve been thinking about your post and wanting to respond. And the conclusion that I’ve come to is that your experience with the get-real-lady and the dog piss could be a wonderful metaphor. E.g. The lady is western culture, her dog is the soulless-but-with-a-life-of-it’s-own repercussions of western culture, and your eco-friendly canvas shopping bag (shout out to Tim Minchin), people. Get over it, people. It’s going to piss on us and all we’re going to have to mop it up is a couple of donated serviettes.

    Seriously though, I hope that once it stops being infuriating it can become one of those hilarious family injokes.

  5. … sitting in my room, thinking about some of the beloved children of God, when I decided come to see your blog… I thought I would see something new here, you are always full of God inspiration (yes, I wrote right, I want say God inspiration and not just good inspiration) even when you are going trough deeper sadness you get to bring out the best from God in you.

    Again one more year is past and I think we all stop for meditate about our year and we hear a lot of “happy new year” coming from the mouths of people around all the world… Most of the time (or sometime) people don’t really pay attention in what they are saying… sometime people don’t really care about “how will be our year”… Human being is natural very selfish (in my view) and I wish I could address this comment to “human being” without being part on that nature… Sometimes I say “happy new year” without really think about this… But when I think about some people, I truly wish a happy new year…

    It was a hard year for you and your family, in fact, I think 2011 also was hard year for you, but you and your family kept “giving”, “blessing” others. Like the heroes of faith in Hebrews 11, you got to live the bible verso who says: “whose weakness was turned to strengths and who became powerful in battle…” (11.34b) Maybe in your evaluation for this past year your don’t see yourself as someone who became “powerful in battle”, maybe instead of that you are feeling weak… But the good thing is that we are what God says we are, even though when we don’t feel it… I pray for you and your family have a Happy, Blessed, Powerful, Amazing, Unexpected good new year.

  6. “As the deer paths for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God..” (Psm 42.1-2)

    IT IS HARD TO BE THIRST.

    “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” (Psm 27.14)

    WAIT, IT WILL CHANGE, IT WILL GET BETTER.

    “…I, the God of Sparrow’s, will not forsake them. I will make rivers flow on barren heights, and springs within the valleys. I will turn the desert into pools of water, and the parched ground into springs.” (Isaiah 41.17-18)

    “… WHOSE WEAKNESS WAS TURNED TO STREANGTHS AND WHO BECAME POWERFUL IN BATTLE…” (Hb 11.34b)

    “… WEAKNESS… TURNED TO STREANGTHS… AND BECOME POWERFUL IN BATTLE…”

    “… WEAKNESS… TURNED TO STREANGTHS… AND BECOME POWERFUL IN BATTLE…”

    “…BECOME POWERFUL IN BATTLE…”

    “…BECOME POWERFUL IN BATTLE…”

    “…POWERFUL IN BATTLE…”

    “…POWERFUL IN BATTLE…”

    Because: “GOD IS NOT A MAN, THAT HE SHOULD LIE. NOR A SON OF MAN, THAT HE SHOULD CHANGE HIS MIND. DOES HE SPEAK AND THEN NOT ACT? DOES HE PROMISE AND NOT FULFILL?” (Numbers 23.19)

    “…DOES HE SPEAK AND THEN NOT ACT? DOES HE PROMISE AND NOT FULFILL?”
    “…DOES HE SPEAK AND THEN NOT ACT? DOES HE PROMISE AND NOT FULFILL?”
    “…DOES HE SPEAK AND THEN NOT ACT? DOES HE PROMISE AND NOT FULFILL?”

    “… You have instructed many… you have strendhened feeble hands… Your words have supported those who stumbled…You have strengthened faltering knees… (Job 4.3-5)

    “…The angel of the Lord came back a second time and touched him and said, “GET UP and eat, for the journey is too much for you…” “Then he came there to a cave and lodged there; and behold, the word of the Lord came to him, and He said to him, “WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE, Elijah?” (I king 19)

    “… WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE??…”

    “…I will make rivers flow on barren heights, and springs within the valleys…” “… WHAT ARE YOU DOING??…” “I will make rivers flow on barren heights, and springs within the valleys…” what are you doing?????
    “NEVER WILL I LEAVE YOU; NEVER WILL FORSAKE YOU” (Hb 13.5)
    “NEVER WILL I LEAVE YOU; NEVER WILL FORSAKE YOU”
    “NEVER WILL I LEAVE YOU; NEVER WILL FORSAKE YOU”

    “YOU ARE HIGHLY ESTEEMED”. “As soon as you began to pray, an answer was given… for you are highly esteemed…” (Daniel 9.23)

    “I will make rivers flow on barren heights, and springs within the valleys. I will turn the desert into pools of water, and the parched ground into springs”
    “NEVER WILL I LEAVE YOU; NEVER WILL FORSAKE YOU”
    “…DOES HE SPEAK AND THEN NOT ACT? DOES HE PROMISE AND NOT FULFILL?”
    Because: “I’M NOT A MAN, THAT SHOULD LIE. NOR A SON OF MAN, THAT I SHOULD CHANGE MY MIND”

Leave a Reply

