God is not an electrician

We have not had electricity for several days. The new fridge we bought is sitting, white and still. It is a warm cupboard, full of chunky milk and sagging fruit. Last night I went out to see the chaokidar (night guard) to see if he knew anything about the blackouts. After we had done the salaams, I asked him.

‘The electricity? You’re asking me? No, I know nothing. What about you?’

Me? No. I told him I didn’t know anything either. ‘Well’, he answered, ‘God is kind.’

Yes, I thought. But clearly no electrician.

Leave a Reply

