Itinerant and Indigent: a probable ending

Sorry folks. I know it has been pretty quiet and pixel-less on Itinerant and Indigent recently. To be honest, we are now, neither; not itinerant, not indigent. We are trying to have some stability in our lives, a feature that has been lacking the last 12 years. We need it, and Afghanistan sure wasn’t, and won’t be offering it. So we are no longer itinerant. We are also not indigent, (and really, we haven’t been for ages. As well as simply being white, western and educated, we are unhappily, the part-recipients of my parents inheritance.

And alongside all that, we are just trying to cope with being back here, with getting our kids settled in school, with grieving, with dealing with lawyers, accountants, banks, builders, brokers, cooks and car salesmen, with each other.

We miss Afghanistan. Few seem to understand that; most think being back here should be a relief. Well, no. It was our home and our life, and despite the travails, we mainly loved it. Or, we lived it. Or both. For whatever it was. I have learned that you don’t need to enjoy something to love it, for it to become deeply part of your self.

I also miss my parents, greatly. There is a huge gap at the end of my life, and I haven’t got to grips with that yet.

I suppose that given we are back here, this blog will soon cease to have much to say: I have never really felt fit to blog about life here in Australia. I’ll try to work out it’s demise or possible new identity [Affluent and Arrogant? Ignorant and Indolent?] in the next few weeks.

Thanks for being part of the journey and struggle.

8 thoughts on “Itinerant and Indigent: a probable ending

  1. “itinerant and indigent”, “Affluent and Arrogant”, “Ignorant and Indolent”, doesn’t matter what it will be, you always will have something to say. Even though you are in Autralie now, for sure you always will have something to say. Reading your writing we see that you always find deeper things from simple things and what was simple, through your eyes, we see the deeper and it is not about where you are but about who you are.
    God bless you and your family in your readaptation.

  2. we are sorry about your parents. and the upheaval it has caused in your family
    we hope to meet one day in the future. Praying for rest and comfort and joy. Renee and Bryan, Perth

  3. I pray that your work there will not be have been in vain and that the Lord will open doors for you back here in Australia to be able to continue to make a difference in the lives of Afghan people. All the best to you all as you adjust to all the changes and may all the processes be opportunities to witness to God’s goodness.

  4. Hi Phil – welcome home… If that is what it is. You know I have enjoyed and been inspired by your writings from Afghanistan and understand of you no longer see fit to keep a blog.

    But… I reckon there is a huge challenge to be a prophetic voice while living in this culture and helping us with our faithfulness to Christ.

    You were one kind of a prophetic voice while ‘there’ and I reckon you have changed locations but will still have much to say.

    Thinking of you as you adjust to the place and the place in life.

    Hamo

  5. I heard the late Derek Prince say how hard it was to be a refugee in your own country. That is how he and his wife felt after living overseas for many years, and returning to Britain before relocating for the final time in Israel. I think his statement is true for you.
    love Robyn

  6. 30 march 2009
    “I guess where I now feel most at home is a place where I am part of a community with shared goals and hopes. Being part of a committed group of people, all oriented towards a similar goal. Living closely with people in a life and with a lifestyle where we feel tangibly, daily, viscerally, the urgent needs of people who are poor and marginalised and suffering. And where we try to do something about those needs.
    …it is quite happifying being here in the bush in SW Western Australia for a while. But I know within a month or so, I will be pining for blackouts, cold showers, suicide bombs, crap roads, the wail of the azan and the smell of the sewer. Pining for a life more miserable, but infinitely more meaningful.”
    16 march 2009
    “…We are part of something bigger than ourselves. While many days I achieve nothing, and only occasionally do I do something that actually benefits someone here, I am at least part of the humanitarian effort, the effort to bring to the forefront love, forgiveness, justice, hope, tolerance.”
    *************** *****************
    I don’t know how long you will stay in Australia, neither where will you go after that, but a passionate people like you, for sure won’t get to stay far from a “miserable place” doing something that you call “more meaningful”. In fact, TO BE, knowing that we are not “the only one in the world” is already meaningful… Human being is natural selfish and we need selfless people to remind the world that “we are not the only one”.

    I pray for you get to relax this time while you are in Australia, till God (for sure will) send you again “to a hell” to bring people from there to Him.

  7. Thanks for Phil for sharing. I thought I’d have a look at what you have been posting recently – knowing that your family are settling back into Oz life again.

    I too miss Afghanistan and dream of the day when I will return to the place that I loved and lived in. I enjoyed your words, “It was our home and our life, and despite the travails, we mainly loved it. Or, we lived it. Or both. For whatever it was. I have learned that you don’t need to enjoy something to love it, for it to become deeply part of your self”, as too can relate a little. That place certainly captured mine and a lot of people’s hearts…

    Bless you and your family heaps. May Os bring its adventures – the fun ones, so you can love the life there too!

    Rowena

  8. Perhaps you’re not in the mood, but the few times I’ve been out of Afghanistan in my short time here, I have found that I think more clearly about it. Is it possible we’ll get even more insightful blog posts once the pollution clears out of your lungs and the day-to-day stresses of life here fade away?

Leave a Reply

