Christina asked about the expression ‘I don’t want

Christina asked about the expression ‘I don’t want my children to walk in the dust’.
‘Dust’, as used in Dari can have simply the literal meaning – i.e., ‘I don’t want my children to live in this dustbowl, this poor man’s house’.

But it also has a meta-meaning – a common curse here, is ‘Khak dar sar-et!‘ ‘Dust on your head!’ – which means, ‘May you die’ – the expression deriving from, when a person is dead and being buried, dust is thrown into the grave, onto their heads  – Muslims being preferably buried standing, so they can properly greet Mohammed the Prophet when he comes summon them.

So, the other meaning would be, ‘I don’t want my children to walk in death’.

2 thoughts on “Christina asked about the expression ‘I don’t want

    • Hi Christina. Yes, it has been quiet. The bottom line is, I rarely write (on this blog anyway) when I am living in Australia. I am in many ways far more critical of life and preoccupations here, but I seem less able to constructively frame that. And I don’t have any overseas trips on the schedule. Let’s see if the next months yield anything – I am finishing my current work and focussing more on writing. But it might be that blogging drains off my creative energies, and I am more keen to get a book finished…
      Thanks for the encouragement.
      Phil

Leave a Reply

