Postscript

It’s five years to the day that we returned to live in Perth. I just realised this tonight. Five years ago, we arrived back here.

The last few months, I have been aware in some new ways of the costs of living for so long in a place like Afghanistan. The signs have been there for a while, but it came to the fore late one night, as a heavy truck streamed down the hill past our home. Maybe 2am or 3am? We both awoke, instantly. Something about the noise, the hiss. For me,  I think it was the wave of air that I sensed, rather than felt, that preceded the truck. It brought back out of my body the memory of shock waves that preceded explosions. I didn’t sleep much that night, and I know I haven’t slept well for a long time. There are some other symptoms too.

I’m getting some help with this. We’ll be ok.

 

Leave a Reply

